

DN 120/14/ICA 2007

9 October 2014

INTERNATIONAL COFFEE AGREEMENT 2007 CONCLUDED IN LONDON, 28 SEPTEMBER 2007 OPPORTUNITY FOR DEPOSIT OF INSTRUMENTS 2 TO 6 MARCH 2015

The Executive Director of the International Coffee Organization (ICO), as the chief administrative officer of the Depositary for the International Coffee Agreement (ICA) 2007, communicates the following:

The deadline for deposit of instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession is 30 September 2015.

There will be an opportunity for deposit of instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession, or notifications of provisional application, during the 114th Session of the International Coffee Council which will take place in London from 2 to 6 March 2015.

Document ED-2033/08 Rev. 9, which includes model instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession, is attached for information. The Annex shows the status of membership of the ICO under the ICA 2007. An updated report on membership can be found on the ICO website: http://www.ico.org/depositary_e.asp.

Attention: Treaty Services of Ministries of Foreign Affairs

International Coffee Organization 22 Berners Street, London W1T 3DD United Kingdom Tel: +44 (0) 20 7612 0600 Fax: +44 (0) 20 7612 0630 Website: www.ico.org Email: depositary@ico.org

MEMBERSHIP OF THE INTERNATIONAL COFFEE ORGANIZATION UNDER THE INTERNATIONAL COFFEE AGREEMENT 2007 AS AT 8 OCTOBER 2014

AS AT 8 OCTOBER 2014								
	Date of signature	NOTIFICATION OF PROVISIONAL APPLICATION	TYPE OF INSTRUMENT DEPOSITED	DATE OF DEPOSIT OF	PERCENTAGE OF VOTES FOR THE PURPOSES OF ENTRY INTO FORCE			
A. Countries which have	e completed all the req	uired procedures						
Exporting Mombors (20)								
Exporting Members (39) Angola	19 May 2008		Approval	22 September 2009	0.5			
Bolivia, Plurinational State of	19 May 2008 16 June 2011	10 April 2012	Ratification	22 September 2009	0.5			
Brazil	19 May 2008	10 April 2012	Ratification	22 September 2014 2 February 2011	24.4			
Burundi	21 September 2009		Acceptance	21 September 2009	0.8			
Cameroon	•		Ratification	17 September 2009	1.2			
Central African Republic	23 May 2008 22 May 2008		Ratification	24 August 2012	0.5			
Colombia	22 May 2008 20 May 2008	2 December 2008	Katification	24 August 2010	10.0			
Colombia Costa Rica	20 May 2008 29 May 2008	2 December 2008	Ratification	11 December 2009	10.0			
Côte d'Ivoire	18 July 2008			15 October 2009	2.6			
Cuba	29 August 2008		Approval Ratification	4 December 2008	0.5			
Ecuador	30 September 2008		Ratification	30 September 2008	1.3			
El Salvador	25 June 2008		Ratification	4 December 2008				
			Ratification		1.7			
Ethiopia	28 August 2008			8 July 2010	2.8			
Gabon	22 July 2008		Acceptance	25 February 2009	0.5			
Ghana	11 July 2008		Ratification	17 August 2009	0.5			
Guatemala	29 August 2008		Ratification	23 March 2011	3.6			
Honduras	27 June 2008		Ratification	7 June 2010	2.9			
India	28 August 2008		Ratification	22 September 2008	3.6			
Indonesia	25 June 2008		Ratification	5 February 2009	5.5			
Kenya	22 May 2008		Ratification	22 May 2008	1.2			
Liberia	26 August 2008		Ratification	6 October 2009	n.a.			
Malawi	28 August 2008		Ratification	18 July 2012	0.5			
Mexico	23 June 2009		Ratification	8 April 2010	2.6			
Nicaragua	19 March 2009		Ratification	12 August 2009	1.6			
Panama	1 July 2008		Ratification	12 March 2009	0.6			
Papua New Guinea	7 November 2008	6 November 2009			1.5			
Paraguay	27 September 2010		Ratification	21 August 2013	0.5			
Philippines			Accession	29 March 2011	0.5			
Rwanda	18 July 2008		Ratification	17 May 2012	0.8			
Sierra Leone			Accession	5 May 2011	n.a			
Tanzania	23 July 2008	22 September 2009	Ratification	21 September 2010	1.1			
Thailand	4 August 2009		Ratification	4 August 2009	0.8			
Timor-Leste	19 August 2008		Ratification	5 January 2009	n.a.			
Тодо	23 May 2008		Ratification	21 September 2010	0.6			
Uganda	21 September 2009		Ratification	1 March 2010	2.7			
Vietnam	28 August 2008		Approval	28 August 2008	12.7			
Yemen	27 February 2008		Ratification	14 July 2010	n.a.			
Zambia	11 September 2009		Ratification	3 August 2011	0.6			
Zimbabwe	20 August 2009		Ratification	24 May 2012	0.6			
Total					94.2			
Importing Members (6)								
European Union	17 June 2008		Approval	17 June 2008	68.0			
Austria								
Belgium								
Bulgaria								
Croatia								

	Date of signature	NOTIFICATION OF PROVISIONAL APPLICATION	TYPE OF INSTRUMENT DEPOSITED	Date of deposit of INSTRUMENT	PERCENTAGE OF VOTES FOR THE PURPOSES OF ENTRY INTO FORCE
Importing Members (contd)		'			1
Cyprus					
Czech Republic					
Denmark					
Estonia					
Finland					
France					
Germany					
Greece					
Hungary					
Ireland					
Italy					
Latvia					
Lithuania					
Luxembourg					
Malta					
Netherlands					
Poland					
Portugal					
Romania					
Slovakia					
Slovenia					
Spain					
Sweden					
United Kingdom					
Norway	2 June 2010		Ratification	21 September 2010	1.2
Switzerland	22 May 2008		Ratification	11 September 2009	1.8
Tunisia	5 October 2009		Ratification	21 September 2010	
Turkey	28 August 2008		Ratification	28 March 2011	n.a.
United States of America	28 August 2008		Acceptance	28 August 2008	21.8
Total					92.8
B. Countries which hav	e signed the Agreemen	t but not completed the	required proced	ures	
Exporting countries (5)					
Benin	23 September 2009				0.5
Congo, Dem. Rep. Of	23 September 2009				0.7
Guinea	2 July 2008				0.8
Madagascar	25 September 2009				0.6
Nigeria	21 July 2008				0.5
-	,				3.1

	Date of signature	-	CATION OF AL APPLICATION	TYPE OF INSTRUMENT DEPOSITED	Date of deposit of Instrument	PERCENTAGE OF VOTES FOR THE PURPOSES OF ENTRY INTO FORCE	
C. Countries which hav	e not signed the Agreen	nent					
Exporting countries (5)							
Congo, Rep.						0.5	
Dominican Republic						0.6	
Haiti						0.5	
Jamaica						0.5	
Venezuela, Bolivarian Rep. of						0.6	
Total						2.7	
Importing countries (1)							
Japan 1/						7.2	
Total						7.2	
D. Countries invited as	observers to attend the	98 th Sessio	n of the Coun	cil at which the IO	CA 2007 was adopted		
Algeria	Fiji		Mozambiqu	e	Sudan		
Argentina	Iceland		Myanmar		Syrian Arab Repul	Syrian Arab Republic	
Armenia	Iran, Islamic Republic of		Nepal		The former Yugos	The former Yugoslav	
Australia	Israel		New Zealand		Republic of Mac	Republic of Macedonia	
Belarus	Jordan		Oman		Timor-Leste 2/		
Belize	Korea, Republic of		Pakistan		Trinidad and Toba	Trinidad and Tobago	
Botswana	Kuwait		Peru		Tunisia 2/		
Cambodia	Lao People's Dem. Rep.		Russian Federation		Turkey 2/	Turkey 2/	
Canada	Lebanon		Saudi Arabia		Ukraine		
Chile	Liberia 2/		Serbia		United Arab Emira	United Arab Emirates	
China	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya		Sierra Leone 2/		Uruguay	0,	
Croatia 3/	Malaysia		Singapore		Yemen 2/		
Egypt	Mauritius		South Africa				
Equatorial Guinea	Morocco		Sri Lanka				

n.a. = not applicable

Note: The percentage of votes for the purposes of entry into force is based on the initial distribution of votes for coffee year 2007/08: document EB-3934/07.

1/ See document ED-2060/09.

2/ Procedures for membership of the 2007 Agreement completed.

3/ Became a State member of the European Union on 1 July 2013 and as a consequence procedures for membership of the 2007 Agreement have been completed.