

PR 271/08

1 September 2008 Original: English

PRESS RELEASE

International

Organización Internacional del Café

Organização Internacional do Café Organisation Internationale du Café

> International Coffee Agreement 2007 – Membership as at 1 September 2008

The Executive Director of the International Coffee Organization, Mr Néstor Osorio, today reported that the following 32 Governments signed the International Coffee Agreement (ICA 2007) by the deadline of 31 August 2008:

Exporting Governments: Angola, Brazil, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Nigeria, Panama, Rwanda, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Vietnam and Yemen.

Importing Governments: European Community, Switzerland, Turkey and the United States of America.

Four new Members have signed the Agreement: three coffee producing countries (Liberia, Timor-Leste and Yemen which respectively have average annual production of around 10,000, 200,000 and 250,000 60-kg bags), and one coffee consuming country (Turkey, with average annual consumption of around 450,000 60-kg bags).

In addition, two exporting Members holding 13.90% of the votes of exporting Members (Kenya and Vietnam), and two importing Members holding 89.80% of the votes of importing Members (the European Community with 27 member States, and the United States of America) have ratified, approved or accepted the ICA 2007, thus completing all necessary membership formalities.

The International Coffee Council will meet from 22 to 26 September 2008 and establish procedures for accession by countries which were not able to sign the ICA 2007 by the deadline. A report on the status of membership of the 2007 Agreement as at 1 September 2008 is attached.

- 2 -

International Coffee Agreement 2007

The International Coffee Agreement 2007, the seventh Agreement since 1962, was agreed by the 77 Members of the International Coffee Council, meeting in London on 28 September 2007. The Council formally adopted the Agreement through Resolution 431 and designated the ICO as the Depositary for the Agreement through Resolution 436. The Agreement will strengthen the ICO's role as a forum for intergovernmental consultations, facilitate international trade through increased transparency and access to relevant information, and promote a sustainable coffee economy for the benefit of all stakeholders and particularly of small-scale farmers in coffee producing countries.

About the ICO: The International Coffee Organization is an intergovernmental organization created under the auspices of the United Nations to serve the international coffee community. Established in 1963, the ICO is unique in bringing 77 producing and consuming countries together to exchange views and address coffee policy issues. In the last four calendar years, the value of world coffee exports averaged over US\$8 billion and world imports averaged just under US\$11 billion. The ICO provides the following services: up-to-date information and statistics; innovative projects to benefit the world coffee economy; coffee market reports and economic studies; and promotion of coffee consumption in emerging markets.

For more information please contact:

Néstor Osorio, Executive Director José Sette, Head of Operations

> Email: info@ico.org Website: www.ico.org

Tel: +44 (0) 20 7612 0600 Fax: +44 (0) 20 7612 0630

MEMBERSHIP OF THE INTERNATIONAL COFFEE ORGANIZATION UNDER THE INTERNATIONAL COFFEE AGREEMENT 2007

In accordance with Article 40, the International Coffee Agreement (ICA) 2007 was opened for signature at the ICO Headquarters in London from 1 February 2008 to 31 August 2008. The position of signatures, notification of provisional application and instruments of ratification, acceptance and approval as at 1 September 2008 is as follows:

	DATE OF SIGNATURE	TYPE OF INSTRUMENT DEPOSITED	DATE OF DEPOSIT OF INSTRUMENT	PERCENTAGE OF VOTES FOR THE PURPOSES OF ENTRY INTO FORCE 1/
Exporting Members				
Angola	19 May 2008			
Brazil	19 May 2008			
Cameroon	23 May 2008			
Central African Republic	22 May 2008			
Colombia	20 May 2008			
Costa Rica	29 May 2008			
Côte d'Ivoire	18 July 2008			
Cuba	29 August 2008			
El Salvador	25 June 2008			
Ethiopia	28 August 2008			
Gabon	22 July 2008			
Ghana	11 July 2008			
Guatemala	29 August 2008			
Guinea	2 July 2008			
Honduras	27 June 2008			
India	28 August 2008			
Indonesia	25 June 2008			
Kenya	22 May 2008	Ratification	22 May 2008	1.20
Liberia	26 August 2008			n.a.
Malawi	28 August 2008			
Nigeria	21 July 2008			
Panama	1 July 2008			
Rwanda	18 July 2008			
Tanzania	23 July 2008			
Timor-Leste	19 August 2008			n.a.
Togo	23 May 2008			
Vietnam	28 August 2008	Approval	28 August 2008	12.70
Yemen	27 February 2008			n.a.
Total				
Importing Members				
European Community	17 June 2008	Approval	17 June 2008	68.00
Switzerland	22 May 2008			
Turkey	28 August 2008			n.a.
United States of America	28 August 2008	Acceptance	28 August 2008	21.80
Total				

n.a. = not applicable

^{1/} Paragraph (1) of Article 42 of the ICA 2007 provides that the Agreement shall enter into force definitively when signatory Governments holding at least two-thirds of the votes of the exporting Members and signatory Governments holding at least two-thirds of the votes of the importing Members, calculated as at 28 September 2007, without reference to possible suspension under the terms of Article 21, have deposited instruments of ratification, acceptance or approval (see EB-3934/07).